Strasbourg, France

12 06 2012

Bonjour!
A couple words to describe yesterday and today include busy, cold, and rainy.

Currently I am sitting the bus looking out at the cold and rainy window trying to think about where to start. I makes it hard to think about everything I learned because I’m still exhausts from the weekend adventure and yesterday’s field trip.

I woke up at 6:00 to the sound of rain against my window (I don’t know why I expect it to ever be anything but rain). Everyone in my class loads the bus for a two and a half drive to Strasbourg, France. This city is on the boarder and right over the bridge is Germany. Many times throughout history Strasbourg has been a battle between the French and Germany’s. (picture of buildings below).

We had a tour guide who brought us through the cathedral and around the city. Our professor Dr.Agostini enjoyed calling her “granny.” I’m not sure if she ever caught on that that’s what we were laughing at and not at her jokes (she thought she was funny). The outside of the cathedral (picture below) was very unique. I have never seen a building built with the rock (I believe sandstone) they used. It looked extremely cool, but at the same time I had a hard time looking directly at it for so long. The inside of the cathedral was built in a few different centuries so you could see how architecture has changed over the years.

The city itself is beautiful. As I walked along the river looking at the different buildings I felt like I was on the set of a movie. Each section of a building was made different with a mixture of French and German architecture.

It amazes me with every city I visit how different it looks. I will only travel a couple hours away and the weather and architecture is completely different! (picture of building below).

In the afternoon we had the opportunity to visit the European Parliament. The building is massive and extremely modern. It definitely stands out in the city (I’m sure that’s the look they were going for). We had a short presentation on what they do and then we sat in and listened as representatives from countries made their points for or against a law. (picture below)

After a long day we headed back to the dorms and unfortunately missed the big football game (soccer) with France vs. Britain. It did, however, end in a tie.

Still on the bus now I’m on my way to the city of Verdun, France to visit the World War I museum.

The city of Verdun is where the French and German fought during Wold War I from 1914 to 1918. As we drove to the World War I museum, the (building), and then the battle fields, we looked out at the hilly terrain. It is a beautiful, green and hill abundant area (like ski moguls); to think that there are dead soldiers deep beneath the soil is very eery.

In the building (picture below) we climbed to the very top where we could look out at the rolling hills where the battles took place. In the bottom of this building you can look into windows at the pile of unnamed skeletons of soldiers who died in the war. I was scared to look into the windows, but I knew I would regret it if I didn’t (it was creepy though, especially because black clouds where rolling overhead). Then we headed to the battlefield. I don’t believe I have ever been on a battlefield like this before. In school, I learned about World War I, but not until I was on the actual battle field did it make sense and mean something. (picture below standing on the battle field).

Tomorrow we get to sleep in and enjoy Metz during the day because class isn’t until night.

Bonne nuit (goodnight)!
Kyle Ashley

P.S. I have uploading the blog Touring Tours with pictures from the weekend at the bottom.

20120612-224233.jpg

20120612-224241.jpg

20120612-224312.jpg

20120612-224321.jpg

20120612-224330.jpg

20120612-224335.jpg

20120612-224345.jpg

20120612-224350.jpg

20120612-224355.jpg

20120618-230740.jpg

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 06 2012
Mom

Kyle, your great-great grandfather died in World War I (Canadian Forces) as allies to Scotland in France. Your Great Grandfather Elenor W. Murdoch/k also fought in France with US forces. Thank your for sharing all of your adventures today. You and Kelly, be safe!

14 06 2012
Laura

For some reason I haven’t been able to follow you until now! WOW! What an adventure! I’m so glad you are able to go on this trip! I can feel for you and your train experiences – ugh. As you wrote about your tour of the WWI museum I thought about all of the trips I went on for the history grant. Being on the actual battle fields really does give you perspective. You should watch the movie “War Horse.” It’s all about WWI and takes place in your area. xoxoxox sweet pea! Give big hugs to Kelly!

Leave a Reply

