Le Louvre

2 07 2012

1 juillet 2012

This morning I woke up bright and early with two of my friends to head to Le Louvre! We had heard on Sundays it is free, so as broke college students, we took full opportunity of going today.

Once we arrived from taking the subway, which we have now mastered thanks to “Mademoiselle,” we saw the line. The very long line! We kept walking back to see where we could enter and it went back forever! I really didn’t think we would ever make it in, but it was at least a moving line that took about an hour. The distraction of taking pictures with the pyramid also helped :).

Once inside the Louvre, it was overwhelming figuring out where to even begin. There is so much history in this one museum it is impossible to see it in one day. I walked through the galleries in awe of everything around me. My favorite piece was, of course, the Mona Lisa. I remember learning so much about this painting, that it is so cool to finally see it. I also was amazed to see that it is a lot smaller than I envisioned and was behind a bullet proof case, no one is going to run off with it. My favorite section by far was the apartments of Napoleon. This “apartment” was completely covered in gold! It is hard to imagine that such a lavish lifestyle existed!

In the afternoon we enjoyed the many parks along the Champs-Élysées. There were hundreds of people enjoying the sun, playing in the park, and enjoying their picnics. Once we got closer to the shops there were thousands of people roaming the sidewalks. I finished off my day of walking with a dessert from Haagen Daz!

Currently my body, especially feet, are extremely sore and tired. I need to rest up for my last nine days in Europe!

Bonne Nuit,
Kyle Ashley

20120702-213300.jpg

20120702-213309.jpg

20120702-213317.jpg

20120702-225336.jpg

20120702-225602.jpg

Actions

Information

One response

2 07 2012
Laura

>kisskiss< I smooch you on both cheeks the French way! Oh my Lord after seeing your and Kelly's pics here and on FB I bet I would gain 10 pounds eating all the great food! xooxox Be safe!
Auntie Lu

Leave a Reply

